On eight random things.

Standard

Doctor Z has tagged me to write about 8 random things about myself.

It is surprisingly hard to think of 8 random things. So here are 8 probably not so random things.

  1. I can’t spell. At all. As a teacher of English, I am obliged to pretend that I care about this, but really I couldn’t give a monkeys. Furthermore, secretly, I consider that people who can spell show a pedestrian lack of imagination.
  2. Sandwiches made from large pieces of bread should be cut once, to turn them into decent sized triangles or rectangles. Not twice, to turn them into squares or small triangles. I truly believe this makes them taste better.
  3. I love driving and miss it with a passion. I haven’t driven for 8 years and 2 months. Unfortunately, the last time I drove was to pick up my Brother on my way to our Grandmother’s funeral. It was a satisfyingly lengthy road trip, but hardly one I like to reminisce about. Every now and then I try to persuade B that we need to hire a car for some reason or another, but so far I have been unsuccessful. This probably fuels my hatred of British public transport (“…but I want to drive.”).
  4. I also like loud shouty music with energetic guitars, or lots of bass if we are talking classical music. I don’t like Heavy Metal. Heavy Metal is defined as any loud guitar band I don’t like.
  5. I tend to mix up names. For years I was baffled as to why Frank Sinatra seemed to be getting younger and had completely changed his style of music, and then I found out that I thought he and Bruce Springsteen were the same person. Last night I discovered that I had been making much the same mistake with Bob Dylan and Dylan Thomas.
  6. Whenever I get on a plane, the lemon scented napkins make me laugh.
  7. I am appalling in the mornings. It is really much better if I don’t have to interact with anybody face to face for at least an hour and two cups of coffee. In fact, I have to get up early just to ensure I have that time before I am forced to go out and be pleasant to people. I firmly believe that the success of my and B’s marriage is down us never having been on a work schedule that means we are in the house together in the morning on a regular basis.
  8. I got a D in Maths for A level. I am very proud of that D. I worked hard for it. However, in my next life, when everybody says ‘don’t do Maths for A level, Sol’ perhaps I will listen to them.

I tag Max, Natalia, Waily Waily, Imani, OscarandreHealingmagichands, SG V, and Vince. Am I allowed to threaten people with dire supernatural consequences if they don’t do it? No? Pah.

14 responses »

  1. Oh jeez. There I am innocently enjoying reading randomness feeling all smug I do not have to come up with anything random because random is super hard and I am even feeling mildly sympathetic and also admiring your whimsy when WHAMMO –

    You stealth tag me.

    That is just wicked.

  2. Aha! I’ve done it already so nyah to you. That’s funny about the spelling thing, I can’t either. And I always mix up Bob Dylan and Dylan Thomas, and I always will because I care for neither.

  3. What’s crazy is that we have quite a few things in common on this list, although I have recently gotten further into Metal. I can’t work, write or think well enough without loud music.

    Thanks for tag.

    VRL

  4. Oh I don’t know, imani. I reckon you should do it again. With 8 new things…

    Or perhaps that’s a little harsh.

    I like your lists, Vince, so…

    I get my fill of Metal. B likes it. *sigh*

    I have retaliated by buying a Justin Timberlake album, which is what we are all listening to now (sorry).

  5. Pingback: the demon russian strikes « celluloid blonde

  6. And Max in turn has spread the love and tagged me as well.

    By the way, this blog is very cool and when I have some time I’m coming back to cruise around.

    Anita Marie

  7. Pingback: 8 is my favourite number « Natalia Antonova

  8. Share and enjoy is a motto to bring out again and again, Anita Marie.

    Glad you like the place. Please do come back. I’ve been reading your warewolf story. Suitably unnerving and I’ve been feeling glad I am properly fortified with coffee.

  9. I laugh at lemon-scented napkins. I try to do it quietly, as air stewards seem to not have read the right books and think I’m too barkingly odd to serve coffee to thereafter. And without coffee, I am unspeakable.

    Bob Dylan and Dylan Thomas – you do know the line from Simon and Garfunkel’s ‘A Simple Desultory Philippic (Or How I Was Robert McNamara’d Into Submission)’, don’t you:

    ‘When you say Dylan, he thinks you’re talking about Dylan Thomas
    Whoever he was
    The man ain’t got no culture’

    Sorry.

  10. Last time I was on a plane they had _grapefruit_ scented napkins.

    This cheered me up so much I took them home instead of using them, and they now sit in my bathroom cabinet, to this day a source of quiet pleasure.

    I knew the Bob Dylan thing would annoy you. *Grins* Thing is, it makes situations where people used to say ‘His words are so good’ and I’d be sitting there thinking ‘well, duh, that’s what poets do isn’t it?’ so much clearer, in retrospect.

    Ummm. Dylan Thomas is a poet, isn’t he? He’s not that Welsh guy who thinks all foreigners should be roundly sent packing, is he?

  11. Dylan Thomas, famous and famously alcoholic welsh poet, wrote ‘Under Milk Wood’, which many many people are forced to read in school. Died in 1953. Famous last words, before collapsing and dying of alcohol-induced brain-damage: “I’ve had eighteen straight whiskies, I think that’s the record.” Poor bastard.

  12. Pingback: Tag…you’re it! « Oh Waily Waily

Leave a Reply

